Transportation Planning

MoDOT Director Visits Kirksville

MoDOT Director Visits Kirksville MoDOT Director Patrick McKenna visited Kirksville on Tuesday, July 19, 2016 for a special luncheon at TSU and talked of funding issues. Also in attendance were Harriett Beard, Rep. Craig Redmon and Rep. Nate Walker, John Briscoe, Jack McGruder, Sue Thomas, City of Kirksville officials, Kirksville Chamber of Commerce, ATSU, Mo DOT area engineers, NEMO RPC, and local business leaders.



Kids Safety Day Held

The Scotland County Hospital Ambulance Service, along with numerous area businesses and individuals hosted a Kids Safety Day on June 18, 2016 on the Memphis City Square. This was a free event with something for all age groups to enjoy including a kids smoke house, fireman water game, bounce houses for all ages, emergency vehicle displays and a visit by Smokey the Bear and other guests.

Members of the Sheriff’s Department, Memphis Police Department, Scotland County Health Department, MO Fire Marshal, MO Geological Survey, National Weather Service, the Coalition for Roadway Safety and the Missouri Conservation Department were in attendance.

Pictured at the Arrive Alive table is Melody Whitacre, NEMO RPC.

Arrive Alive display

Transportation Event


Harriett Beard and Rep. Nate Walker in front of sign honoring Mrs. Beard
Harriet Beard and Rep. Nate Walker in front of sign honoring Mrs. Beard


TAC Member Harriet Beard Receives Recognition

A special recognition to honor Harriet Beard was held Sunday, November 15, 2015 at the Ruth Towne Museum and Visitor Center at Truman State University in Kirksville, MO.  The event marked the naming of “Harriet Beard Highway” – the portion of Highway 63 from the Adair-Macon County line to the northern border of the city limits of the City of Kirksville.  Leaders from both the local and state levels, friends, and family were present at this event to thank and congratulate Harriet on her many years of hard work and efforts.

Public Transit/Human Services Transportation Plan

To view our 2013 Public Transit/Human Services Transportation Plan,PUBLIC TRANSIT plan 2013 FINAL & cover


 Northeast Missouri Regional Transportation Advisory Council (TAC)

The Northeast Missouri Regional Transportation Advisory Council (TAC) is comprised of eighteen (18) members representing county government, city government, transportation corridor groups, other transportation partners, and the Missouri Department of Transportation. There are three (3) members in each county and they are appointed by the resident County Commissioners. In Adair County, members are: Stanley Pickens, Richard Detweiler, and Harriet Beard. In Clark County, members are: Ron Brewer, Wayne Blum, and Henry Dienst. In Knox County, members are: Evan Glasgow, David Strickler Jr., and Roger Parton. In Lewis County, members are: Wayne Murphy, John Campen, and Jesse Roberts. In Schuyler County, members are: Jim Werner, James Foster, and Jeff Lindquist. In Scotland County, members are: Danette Clatt, William Reckenberg, and Chipper Harris. Missouri Department of Transportation members are: Angie Hoecker, Amy Crawford, Paula Gough, Kevin James, and Tom Batenhorst.

The TAC incorporates local communities into the statewide transportation process by accepting responsibilities such as attending and participating in quarterly meetings; understanding the scope of work to be accomplished by the TAC and the Northeast Missouri Regional Planning Commission/Rural Development Corporation; understanding the planning framework process and how the TAC’s involvement is incorporated into the process; providing input on transportation needs in our counties and communities; distributing information to communities and residents; distributing information to communities and residents; prioritizing transportation needs for the region; prioritizing projects for the region; and as always by providing ideas to the NEMO RPC/RDC staff on ways to improve the planning process and TAC meetings.

Year after year, NEMO RPC/RDC banks on the TAC to submit local transportation needs to the agency at TAC meetings which are then prioritized by the committee as a whole. This process is ever changing. This list of needs is then submitted to our local MoDOT district office by March of the fiscal year. To date there are thirty-five (35) needs compiled for ranking and prioritization in our region. Of those needs, four (4) are in Adair County, eight (8) are in Clark County, four (4) are in Knox County, nine (9) are in Lewis County, one (1) is in  Schuyler County, eight (8) are in Scotland County, and one (1) is shared between Adair/Schuyler Counties.


MoDot Title VI

NEMO RPC Title VI Policy