Transportation News

February 01, 2018


Safety Coalition Recognizes Schuyler County for Zero Highway Fatalities in 2017


MACON – In 2017, there were no fatalities on roads in Schuyler County, which is something to celebrate.  The NE Coalition for Roadway Safety and Sgt. Eric Brown, Missouri State Highway Patrol Troop B, and several partners, recently presented the commissioners with a sign “On the Road to Zero” to display in the courthouse recognizing them for their efforts on zero fatalities.

Sgt. Eric Brown, with the Missouri State Highway Patrol, gave a brief presentation, and Marisa Christy-Kerns, with the Northeast Coalition for Roadway Safety, provided the audience with Coke Zero drinks and Lifesavers candy.  Other safety partners present were Lyndsie Burns, Schuyler County R-1 High School counselor; students from the high school; Kathryn Magers and Joan Brundage with the Schuyler County Health Department; Phil Beeler with Schuyler County Emergency Management; Chris Eastman with Schuyler County Ambulance; Joe Wuebker, sherriff;  and Amy Crawford with the Northeast Coalition.

While “zero” is a good thing to celebrate in this case, the Northeast Coalition for Roadway Safety and its partners recognize there are many counties throughout northeast Missouri who weren’t as fortunate.  “We had three counties in northeast Missouri who had zero road fatalities in 2017, yet our goal is to have zero fatalities on all roads not only in our area, but throughout the state,” explained Marisa Ellison, facilitator for the Northeast Coalition for Roadway Safety.

“This is just an opportunity to recognize the county and the partners of the Coalition for their efforts and help bring awareness that they are making a difference in lives of those who travel Missouri roads,” Ellison added.

Since the formation of the statewide Missouri Coalition for Roadway Safety, Missouri fatalities have been reduced to nearly half.  “We started in 2006 with more than 1200 and we’re down to 947 in 2017, which isn’t enough,” Ellison stated.  “We need to continue to work toward zero,” she added, “and we appreciate all those who take safe driving seriously.”

The Northeast Coalition for Roadway Safety provides funding for safety partners with the goal to reduce fatalities on Missouri roads.

The Northeast Coalition meets quarterly around the region, which is comprised of 17 counties.  For more information on the Coalition, visit our web site at


(Picture and Cutline) Seated left to right are Lyndsie Burns, Schuyler R-1 High School counselor; Lauren Morris, Jessica Seaton; Marissa Buckallew; Chloe Buckallew; Zoe Berry; Kathy Steen, Assistant County Clerk; and Joan Brundage, RN Core Services Supervisor and in the back row left to right are Phil Beeler, Schuyler County Emergency Management; Chris Eastman, EMT Schuyler County Ambulance; Kathryn Magers, Administrator Schuyler County Health Dept.; Joe Wuebker, Sheriff Schuyler County; Amy Crawford, MoDOT Area Engineer; Jeff Lindquist, County Commissioner; Jim Werner, County Commissioner; Rodney Cooper, Presiding Commissioner; Brandon Cantril, County Roads Supervisor; Sgt. Eric Brown, MSHP Troop B Public Information Officer.

Links to related information: